I Have ADD (also known as ADHD – inattentive type)

Posted: January 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’m wandering through this thread on reddit describing ADHD, and I just don’t connect with a lot of the other people on there about what they are saying on the disorder.  But I definitely have it; I was diagnosed with it when I was in the 3rd grade, I believe.  I still remember the short time that I was put on Ritalin.  Suddenly I could focus on what the teacher was saying and not draw dragons all over my homework assignments.  I was getting work done.  I was well behaved.  This was also the time we went to Disney World as a family and my mother still says I was the most well-behaved child out of all of us by far.

But I was a zombie.  I wasn’t just well-behaved, I was too well-behaved.  I no longer drew.  I wasn’t creative.  And my mom hated seeing that side of me be lost, so she took me off the medication.

Perhaps this is why I don’t connect with the other people in that Reddit thread.  While they used the medication to cope, I learned my own coping mechanisms.  I learned that I pretty have to multitask and work on more than one project at a time (for instance, at this very moment I’m writing this post, working on another short story, editing a novella, and researching covers.)  And sometimes it’s an uphill battle.  Sometimes starting my writing for the day feels like pushing a 4 ton square boulder up a vertical cliff.  But then I get started and the boulder turns into a beach ball and the cliff turns into a gently sloping hill.  Or sometimes it doesn’t.

Even in a routine for me, things never stay the same.

Leave a Reply

